CamStreamer

Axis does not support RTMP as a transmission protocol in their firmware (correct me if I am wrong about this), this seems to be an omission as RTMP offers a pretty good way for the camera to initiate an outbound connection to an RTMP service somewhere outside the network. I believe this is how DropCam works (again, an assumption).

As most probably know (or should know), an Axis camera is basically a small Linux computer with a camera attached. Axis will let you download a development environment, which you can then use to compile applications for the camera. This is called ACAP.

Before compiling an RTMP library for ACAP, I decided to check if someone else had done this. Turns out CamStreamer had done so, and I decided to give it a whirl.

Setup is extremely simple, and the UI looks modern and clean. It has support for some of the most popular streaming services, but I needed the RTMP ingest server (Universal)  as I have my own RTMP servers in the cloud.

Options

Setting this stuff up was trivial,

generic

The system pretty much worked like a charm with a single exception. During configuration, there was an error message telling me that the camera could not reach an outside host on port 1935 (the RTMP port). The error message is helpful and accurate. But later, I lost my internet connection completely (a screw-up at my ISP, where they switched me back to DHCP) and I was unable to enter the RTMP configuration page on the camera entirely. I guess this is because the HTML/configuration is served from a host in the cloud. I did not dig into it, but it struck me as a bit odd.

The ACAP application is pretty expensive: $299 for a 1-camera license (at the time of writing). This is pretty steep as you can hook up a Raspberry-PI type device that will do the same for several cameras for less than half that.

I am not sure why RTMP support is not built into more cameras (again, correct me if I am wrong). The “push” model of RTMP is almost perfect for cloud-based solutions, so why this is not standard fare for IP cameras is beyond me.

While Flash Video uses RTMP, RTMP can be used w/o Flash being involved at all. E.g. if I publish a stream via RTMP to EvoStream, I can view the stream via RTSP instead (and what can you do with RTSP streams and your favorite VMS?). It’s true that the reliance on TCP for RTMP introduces a bit of latency, but in practice, this is hardly a problem (if you are going to use a cloud solution, latencies are going to be pretty high compared to a local one).

Author: prescienta

Prescientas ruler

Leave a Reply

