Are You Diffident?

It always amused me when someone says “my personal opinion”. I find it strange, because the “personal” part is superflous. If the person says “my opinion is that red is a nice color”, I assume that the person means what he says: To him, red is a nice color.

If I then give him a red shirt, he says “don’t like it, I hate red”, I would assume some mental illness at play…

“but.. but.. you just said…”, I stutter

“yes, but that was not my personal opinion”

“WAT?”,

puzzled

Opinions don’t have to be personal, sometimes you’ll read “it is the opinion of the court” and things of that nature. But in those cases, it’s pretty clear that it is not the opinion of the person saying the words, that we are talking about. It would be exceedingly weird if the court clerk said “in my opinion, the accused is guilty”.

There are people with mental issues that have trouble with this concept. It is known as Dependant Personality Disorder. It basically means that you can’t have an opinion on anything, you constantly have to ask someone else what their opinion is and then act in accordance with that.

Someone who is deeply narcissistic (borderline?) might assume that everyone in the world, besides themselves, ought to suffer from DPD, and become upset and frustrated when people have opinions that do not align with what they are preaching.

The truth is that finding factual, verifiable information about IP cameras and software is getting easier every day (and this is an old video). Like most people, I don’t much care for what salespeople are saying if it can’t be verified or measured. If the salesperson can provide the raw data, I’ll take it. I will form my own opinion based on what I see. I don’t need some Gríma Wormtongue whispering into my ear.

grima2

With the commoditization of IP cameras, increasing demand for true interoperability we’re getting to a point where facts are valuable, whereas opinions are not (yep, this blog is free!!!). In some cases though. arguments and opinions may be based, not on unbiased interpretation of facts, but instead it is shaped by grudges and anger.

If you are paying for facts, you definitely should demand full disclosure, or if you’re not, you need to ask yourself, am I reading verifiable facts, or just bullshit? You might ask: Are manufacturers paying (directly, or indirectly) the one stating opinions about either the manufacturers products, or the products of the manufacturer’s competitors? If you’re being lied to in the full disclosure, you might be lied to elsewhere.

 

 

Author: prescienta

Prescientas ruler

Leave a Reply

