Radars

 

A while back I got fed up with people parking their cars right in front of my driveway, and I decided to find a solution.

A camera could work, but since I am cheap, I decided to look for something a bit more… economical. A PIR sensor wouldn’t work because it triggers when there is motion, and cars and people pass by all the time, so I looked into ultrasonic sensors and eventually radars. If the distance measured drops below a pre-defined threshold and stays there, I know to run into the street, yelling and screaming.

The inspiration came from Adafruit and Andreas Spiess who has a great YouTube channel where you can get more information about ultrasonic sensors and radars (and about 1000 other things).

 

Basically, you can get an Arduino capable board. I hope the WiFi capable ESP8266 will work (since I have one lying around). Then get some cheap sensors from China via Alibaba and you’re ready to experiment. At the very least, it should give you some idea of the base cost of such a device.

Both Axis and Avigilon have launched commercial versions of miniature radars that can interface to your favorite VMS. Combined with a PTZ camera this might be a very interesting combination that offers a bit more smartness than the good old PIR/PTZ combo.

 

Author: prescienta

Prescientas ruler

Leave a Reply

