Ryzen

Youtubers are disappointed with Ryzen. They expected it to crush Intel in every single benchmark, and I had hoped that it would too. What was I thinking?

The problem that AMD has is that a lot of people seem think that you can get a baby faster if you just add more women.

I’ve been watching a lot of indie coders do a lot of single loop coding, which obviously will not scale across several cores. They are obsessed with avoiding L1/L2 cache misses, which is fine, but at the same time, they rarely talk about multi-threading. Some of the benchmarks I have seen leaves the CPU at 30% utilization across all cores, which means that there’s a lot of untapped potential.

Games with lots of autonomous and complex entities should scale quite well as – if the coder is not spending all his time on organizing his data in a way that makes little sense on a multi-core system, and is willing to shed the dogma that threads are bad.

I am not replacing my 3770K though. I was very tempted to get something that could substantially increase compilation times, but I spend <1% on compilations, so even a massive improvement in compilations would not really improve my productivity overall. And I am not thrilled on having to buy new RAM once again…

 

Author: prescienta

Prescientas ruler

2 thoughts on “Ryzen”

  1. Not exactly related….but I’ve used multiple VMS systems over the years, and in my experience the Ocularis client clearly outperforms most of the other players in the space. What I mean by outperforms, is that when viewing multiple cameras at one time (9, 12, 16, etc.), or even with driving multiple monitors….the CPU processor utilization never seems to be overwhelmed. I’ve seen over and over again a Genetec or Milestone client have one 16 channel view open and the processor is pegged and becomes essentially unusable. Though it might sound odd, I’m actually quite fascinated with this. I would enjoy hearing any behind music thoughts on why this is. Thanks.

    1. Thank you for the kind words. I apologize for the delay in approving the comment, but unfortunately, all comments must be manually approved to prevent an avalanche of spam.

      We always used a hybrid CPU/GPU division of work. Furthermore, all UI elements are all handled on the GPU (buttons, labels, text and so on), only the placement and button states are handled by the CPU. So drawing a semi-transparent button incurs virtually no CPU load. Older clients from Milestone would use GDI which requires that the CPU does everything, and it reduces the GPU to basically a dumb framebuffer. Compositing and scaling in GDI mode are all done on the CPU. People said we were idiots for requiring a GPU 10 years ago and pointed to Milestone’s GDI based client an example of how to do things (fortunately, we stuck to our guns, and I think it paid off).

      Newer versions of the Milestone client uses WPF. My experience with WPF is that it is slow, bloated and after having written our administration tool I feel, even stronger, that WPF is a bad choice for any modern application. I know that S2 uses Qt for their client, which might be what I would do if I was to start over tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

