VR and Surveillance

Nauseating and sweaty I remove my VR goggles. I feel sick, and I need to lie down. Resident Evil 7 works great in VR because things can sneak up on you from behind. You have to actually turn your head to see what was making that noise behind you.

On a monitor I can do a full panoramic dewarp from several cameras at once, and the only nausea I experience is from eating too many donuts too fast. There’s no “behind” and I have a superhuman ability to see in every direction, from several locations, at once. A friend of mine who played computer games competitively (before it was a thing), used the maximum fov available to give him an advantage to mere humans.

panorama

One feature that might be of some use is the virtual video wall. It’s very reminiscent of the virtual desktop apps that are already available.

And I am not even sure about the gaming aspect of VR. In the gaming world, people are already wondering if VR is dead or dying. Steam stats seem to suggest that it is the case, and when I went to try the Vive in the local electronics supermarket, the booth was deserted and surrounded by boxes and gaming chairs. Apparently you could book a trial run, but the website to do so was slow, convoluted and filled with ads.

Time will tell if this takes off. I am not buying into it yet.

 

Author: prescienta

Prescientas ruler

1 thought on “VR and Surveillance”

Leave a Reply

