Orange Pi One

This is getting ridiculous.

I just received my $10 computer from China. I paid a premium for the (required) SD card as I do not have the patience to wait for one to arrive in the mail. My 5V/2A charger for my old, functional, PSP works as a power supply. I then downloaded Armbian and booted.

A few commands later, and I have a $20 dollar camera proxy.

I don’t actually plan to use it as my camera proxy, but as a small controller for a number of sensors I plan to add. For example using a cheap modified PIR sensor as input to the controller.

As you may know, I also have a Raspberry Pi 2. This little device is incredibly stable, and has only been rebooted once in the last 3 months, and that was by accident.

Hopefully you’ll be able to get a $100 device that you simply plug into your infrastructure, and that little device will work as standalone, or as a node in a much larger VMS, but that’s a bigger project that I might pick up later.

Some of the commands I used :

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install ffmpeg

ffmpeg -i rtsp://...... -vcodec copy -f flv rtmp://....
13 thoughts on “Orange Pi One

  1. Alex says:

    What will camera proxy will do for you?
    Can you provide details please

  2. prescienta says:

    Say you want to be able to look at your cameras from a different network, but not allow the cameras direct access to that network. E.g. I don’t EVER want to expose my cameras to the internet – it is just too dangerous, so how do I get to look at them?

    I use a proxy.

    My little Orange Pi, which I control, will connect to the cameras and relay the media stream (and ONLY that) to a server which has outside access. So even if I have a “dangerous” Hikvision camera in my network, that camera does not have internet access at all, it just has access to the proxy.

    This means that the cameras can never “call home” (no internet access), and I will never have to accept an INBOUND request directly to a camera.

    I’ll do an article on this if it makes sense to dive deeper into it.

  3. Alex says:

    On another hand why bother with proxy
    why not to use VMS?

  4. Alex says:

    “server which has outside access”

    You are going to use server anyway
    so why use Proxy?
    just curios

  5. prescienta says:

    Let’s say that I want to record the video from my house in the cloud, but I absolutely do not want to expose my cameras to the internet. The proxy will allow me to do just that. Most cameras use an RTSP server to communicate which means that I need outside access.

    I could use the VMS, but it’s hard to find a VMS that will run on a $10 box 🙂

  6. Alex says:

    ok
    I did not realize u want to use PI as server also
    I understood that PI going to be only proxy
    Thx

  7. Jacob says:

    I’m looking at doing this same thing. I bought a cheap $20 Wifi camera off Aliexpress from China. It said it supported ONVIF and since I know how to do ONVIF things, I thought I would give it a try. I turned my PC into a hotspot so that I could wireshark the connection. I started seeing a bunch of small UDP packets going out to several various addresses. I also saw that it was trying to use UPnP to open a port, and had connected to a P2P server.

    No user interface let me turn off any of the P2P stuff. So no way this is ever going to touch the network. So I’ll buy an Orange Pi Zero. It has Wifi and Wired internet, so I’ll keep the Wifi side isolated and let the Orange Pi Zero proxy the video frames to the wired side.

    I might have to figure out something more tricky to handle the proxying of the ONVIF PTZ commands.

  8. […] you follow my blog, you’ll know that I have been working on micro-PC‘s, I have set up Axis cameras to provide health state information, I have done a lot of GPU […]

Leave a Reply

